Grandparents DON´T Have Rights

We visited the UK at the end of January to catch up with friends and family which was great and we got the opportunity to meet Howard Webb also for the signing of his new autobiography.  Mattie was ecstatic at this opportunity and it was great to see Howard speaking passionately about his love for football and refereeing… Good luck in the future Howard.  Don´t forget if you need a hand with your social media contact us at SoPro!!!!

I got to see the older two boys and Talitha, who is just one year old.  She is an adorable little angel and is extremely well behaved for someone so young!  No tears, no dramas at food time and always had a smile on her face.  Now what some of you don´t know is that I battled to see the eldest grandchild after my middle Son split from his girlfriend.  It got really messy and ended up in Court whereby he was eventually granted access once a week.  Joshua will now be 6 in April and I have not seen him for about 3 years.  I miss him, I send messages to his Mum and Grandma every Christmas and on his Birthday but I never get a response.  I do not even know where they live, and whilst it wouldnt be hard to find out its not the right way to go about it… I mean just turn up at their door!

Joshua will no doubt not recognise me but even dropping his Christmas presents off was a huge drama.  I was not allowed to drop them off at their house in an unknown location in case I told Luke where they lived so I had to drop them off at a friend of theirs.  Only when I did this I was got bombarded with verbal abuse by Facebook message from the friend stating that she was not getting involved and I should arrange this through Joshua family (which I had tried to do and was told to go to the friend).  Its upset me and even now I get really upset when its Christmas or his birthday.  Luke has resigned himself to the fact he wont get to see Joshua until he is of an age where he can choose!  Grandparents don´t have rights it appears…

I have saved all the communication and hopefully one day Joshua will want to know who his paternal Grandparents are and when he is older to understand I hope he will see what a loving and kind people we.  We are waiting for this day to arrive!

Leave a comment